Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Bay Area Business Hall of Fame Honors John Chambers & Jane Shaw with Bennett Recognition Awards

For the 10th consecutive year, the Bay Area Council presented unique Bennett recognition awards to their annual inductees into the Bay Area Business Hall of Fame. The 2016 recipients of these awards were John Chambers, Executive Chair of Cisco, and Jane Shaw, former Chair of Intel. Both Chambers and Shaw were recognized for their outstanding philanthropic and business achievements.

For over 20 years, the Bay Area Business Hall of Fame has honored the accomplishments and contributions of Bay Area business leaders who have spearheaded some of the world’s most respected companies and brands. Past recipients of these awards include Apple Co-Founder, CEO and Chairman Steve Jobs; HP founders William Hewlett and David Packard; Gap Chairman Donald Fisher; George Lucas; Oracle Co-Founder Larry Ellison; Sun Microsystems Chairman and Co-Founder Scott McNealy; Charles Schwab; Intel Co-Founder Gordon Moore; and Adobe Systems Founder John Warnock, among many others.

To honor their induction, Chambers and Shaw received the unique Bennett achievement award “Boundless”, designed by artist and sculptor Tom Bennett. These sculpture awards were cast in pewter and then gold plated. The sculptures were mounted on black marble bases with personalized engravings of the award name, recipient name, and Bay Area Council logo. 

The Bay Area Council is a business-sponsored, public policy advocacy organization for the nine-county Bay Area. The Council proactively advocates for a strong economy, a vital business environment, and a better quality of life for everyone who lives here. Founded in 1945, as a way for the region’s business community and like-minded individuals to concentrate and coordinate their efforts, the Bay Area Council is widely respected by elected officials, policy makers and other civic leaders as the regional voice of business in the Bay Area.