Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

The Winningest Sports Teams in History

Not only does Bennett Awards create distinctive sports awards for our clients, we also create perpetual sports awards such as the Social Boston Sports trophy. Unlike one-time championship awards, perpetual sports awards hold the names of all the past winners going back as long as the event has been held. The award might travel with the winning team each season, but at the end of the day the award actually belongs to the sports organization that sponsored the tournament/season, such as the MLB World Series Trophy. Designing all these perpetual sports awards got us thinking—who are the winning-est sports teams in history?

Obviously this list is subjective because how do you define winningest? Is it the franchise with the most wins overall? The greatest amount of wins in a set time frame? And while die-hard fans are bound to disagree these are some of the most successful teams in professional sports history:

The Pittsburgh Steelers

The Pittsburgh Steelers were founded in 1933 and the team didn’t win its first championship until 1974. But over the next five years, the team went on to win three more and become one of the greatest dynasties the NFL has ever known.

San Francisco 49ers

The 49ers had arguably the best decade in NFL history in the 1980s, winning four Super Bowls, plus one in 1994 for good measure.

Edmonton Oilers

This NHL team won the Stanley Cup 5 times in 7 seasons (’84, ’85, ’87, ’88, and ’90).

Chicago Bulls

Lead by NBA legend Michael Jordan, the Chicago Bulls won 6 NBA championships in the 1990s (‘91, ‘92, ‘93, ‘96, ‘97, ‘98).

New York Yankees

The New York Yankees probably have more championships under their belt as a franchise than any other team in any other sport with 26 World Series wins.

Boston Celtics

The Boston Celtics have won 17 NBA championships in the franchise’s history.

Los Angeles Lakers

The Los Angeles Lakers won 5 championships in the 1980s with Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and then won 5 more after the turn of the millennium with Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant.

Perpetual sports awards are great choices for organizations that hold annual tournaments or events, such as the Facebook ½ Marathon, the World Series of Poker, and the Adrenalina Skateboard Marathon. They allow sports organizations to celebrate the legacy of their events and honor the spirit of competition through time. Perpetual awards are a great way of creating a permanent legacy of recognition in honor of your recipients and their accomplishments.