Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Skateboarding Hall of Fame Presents Custom Trophies from Bennett Awards

The Skateboarding Hall of Fame honored its most recent inductees – the 2013 class – with custom trophies designed by Bennett Awards. In 2010, the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame (ISHOF) and the International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) commissioned Bennett Awards to create a new custom award design for this annual recognition event, and, since then, achievement trophies based on this design have been presented to all new inductees.

These unique custom trophies are based on a three-dimensional representation of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame logo. The recognition trophies feature a realistic statue of one end of a skateboard, including deck, truck and wheels. This skateboard statue sits on top of a block sculpture of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame logotype. These unique awards are produced in pewter, and finish a combination of a brushed pewter and dark patina finish. The trophies are mounted on black marble bases with customized engravings of the recipients’ names.

The Skateboarding Hall of Fame was created in 2009 to honor the history of skateboarding, and to recognize the influential figures that have shaped the sport and culture of skateboarding through the years. The Skateboarding Hall of Fame helps ensure recognition for those individuals who have achieved exceptional skateboarding careers, as well as those whose body of work has affected positive development in the skateboarding industry. 

Selection for the Skateboarding Hall of Fame is not so much based on stats or contest results, but, above all else, on innovation and creativity that have helped in the constant evolution of skateboarding. Each year, the IASC and ISHOF develop a list of deserving nominees, which is then sent out for voting by a broad set of industry veterans. 

The 2013 inductees into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame included Woody Woodward (1960s), Tom Sims (1970s, Era One), Alan “Ollie” Gelfand (1970s, Era Two), Rodney Mullen (1980s, Era One), Christian Hosoi (1980s, Era Two), Wendy Bearer Bull (1960s, Female) and Laura Thornhill Caswell (1970s, Female). Icon Awards, which recognize the sport’s greatest influencers, where given to photographer Warren Bolster, who revived Skateboarder Magazine in the 1970s; NHS, Inc., the trendsetting sports equipment and outfit company; and the band Devo, whose non-conformist attitude has been inspiring skateboarders since the 1970s. 

The 2013 Skateboarding Hall of Fame induction ceremony was held May 9, 2013, at the Sheridan Park Hotel in Anaheim, California. Over 400 people where in attendance to honor these deserving recipients. Past inductees who have received custom trophies designed by Bennett Awards include Tony Hawk, Tony Alva, Danny Way, Stacy Peralta, Jay Adams, Peggy Oki, and Bob Burnquist. 

The International Association of Skateboard Companies is the member-owned not-for-profit trade association of skateboarding. The mission of the IASC is to represent the global skateboarding community with a united voice by listening, understanding and acting on the needs of skateboarders and the skateboard industry. IASC’s goals are to promote skateboarding, increase participation, educate and save our members money. IASC serves its members and the skateboarding community by focusing on areas that affect not only the business, but the overall sustainability and health of skateboarding as a whole. For more information please visit:

The International Skateboarding Hall of Fame was created to honor the passion, dedication and contributions to skateboarding history and culture by skateboarders and cultural icons throughout the decades. The Skateboarding Hall of Fame is located in Simi Valley, Calif.