Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Julia Roberts Receives Bennett Sculpture Award as Recipient of the George Eastman Award

Academy Award-winning actress Julia Roberts was honored with a sculpture award from Bennett Awards as the latest recipient of the George Eastman Award. Roberts was recognized for her distinguished contribution to the art of cinema.


The George Eastman Award was established by the George Eastman Museum in 1955 as the first retrospective film award to honor artistic works of enduring value. Previous recipients of this prestigious recognition award include Charles Chaplin, Gary Cooper, Joan Crawford, Cecil B. DeMille, Greta Garbo, Lillian Gish, Audrey Hepburn, Gregory Peck, Martin Scorsese, James Stewart, Meryl Streep, and Michael Douglas.

Roberts has captivated the world with her roles on the silver screen for over 30 years. Her performances have been recognized with four Academy Award nominations and an Academy Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, as well as nine Golden Globe nominations and three Golden Globes.

In honor of receiving this award, Roberts was presented with the unique Bennett sculpture award “Elite”, designed by Tom Bennett. This sculpture was cast in bronze, and featured a unique combination of both patina and high-polished finishes. The sculpture was mounted on a black marble base with gold-fill engraving of the award name, award purpose, recipient name, and date of presentation. This is the fourth year that the “Elite” sculpture was used for this award.

George-Eastman Julia Roberts.jpg

Roberts was honored with this recognition award at a ceremony held May 2, 2019, at the Dryden Theatre in Rochester, New York.