Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Custom Bennett Awards Presented to Skateboarding Hall of Fame Inductees

For the sixth consecutive year, the Skateboarding Hall of Fame presented its annual class of inductees with unique custom trophies designed by Bennett Awards. The design for these custom recognition awards was originally created in 2010 based on a commission from the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame (ISHOF) and the International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC).

The centerpiece of these unique trophies is a sculpture that is based on a 3D representation of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame logo. Like the logo, these sculptures incorporate two sculpted images. The first, upper sculpture is a realistic image of one end of a skateboard, including deck, truck and wheels. The second, lower sculpture is a block sculpture of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame logotype. These recognition awards are produced in pewter, and feature a combination of a brushed pewter and dark patina finish. The trophies are mounted on black marble bases with customized engravings of the recipients’ names.

The 2015 recipients of these custom trophies include:

  • 1960s – Brian Logan
  • 1970s Era One – Henry Hester
  • 1970s Era Two – Duane Peters
  • 1980s Era One – Neil Blender
  • 1980s Era Two – Chris Miller
  • 1990s – John Cardiel
  • 1970s Female – Robin Logan
  • 1980s Female – Cara-Beth Burnside
  • 1990s Female – Elissa Steamer

In addition to these Hall of Fame inductees, custom trophies were presented to the winners of the Icon Awards, which celebrate industry pioneers and cultural icons who have left a permanent imprint of the history of skateboarding and our culture throughout the years. The Icon Awards are voted on by the IASC Board of Directors. The 2015 recipients of the Icon Awards were:

  • Steve Van Doren, the Vice President of Events and Promotions for Vans, and a longstanding supporter of the skateboarding industry
  • James O’Mahoney, the founder of the United States Skateboarding Association and, later, the World Skateboarding Association, as well as the publisher of Skateboard magazine, the first skateboard magazine of the modern era
  • Tracker Trucks, who set the definition standard in skateboard truck design that is now used by almost every truck company on the market.

These deserving recipients received their awards at the 6th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held May 14, 2014, at the Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel in Costa Mesa, California.

The International Skateboarding Hall of Fame honors by enshrinement those individuals possessing exceptional skateboarding careers, as well as those whose body of work has affected positive development in the skateboarding industry. The Museum, featuring over 5 decades of memorabilia including over 5,000 vintage skateboards, offers free admission and is open 7 days a week. School and community group tours are available by appointment. More information on the Skateboarding Hall of Fame can be found at